The House of York by Terry Tyler

hoyfb.jpg

The House of York is a riveting family saga loosely based on The Wars of the Roses.

Terry Tyler specialises in epic family sagas that bring English history into the modern world and this time the focus is on the House of York.

The story begins when Lisa Grey – the modern Elizabeth Woodville – meets the rich and handsome owner of York’s Wine bars, Elias York (King Edward.) Lisa thinks that she and her son are set for life when Elias proposes, but his complicated family means that things aren’t always as perfect as they seem.

Even though I know enough about the Wars of the Roses to have a fair idea of what happened there were still plenty of surprises. People who do enjoy their history will enjoy the references to the real life events but The House of York doesn’t require any history knowledge to be enjoyed.

This was a much darker period of time than the Tudor period Tyler covered in Kings and Queens and Last Child and that was reflected brilliantly in the The House of York. There were so many more despicable characters and I loved hearing from all of them. I don’t want to post any spoilers, but I have to say that the ending had me floored!

I enjoyed The House of York so much that I read it in one sitting. As Australian television great, Molly Meldrum, would say: Do yourself a favour and get yourself a copy today!

Description:

The House of York ~ a contemporary family drama, spanning the years 1993 – 2014.

Widowed single mum, Lisa Grey, and wealthy businessman, Elias York, are young and madly in love. A recipe for happiness? But Lisa is marrying into a complicated family. Her new sister-in-law doesn’t want to know her. Middle brother Gabriel’s marriage suffers under a cloud of infidelity and gambling debts, while the youngest, Richard, keeps his dark secrets well hidden—and his wife suffers in silence.

Lisa and her mother are bonded by their powerful intuition, but dare not voice their fears about York Towers—or certain members of the family…

Love and loss, abduction, incestuous desires and murderous intent form the basis of this compelling saga in which horrors float just beneath the surface, to bring forth a shocking outcome.

History lovers may be interested to know that The House of York is loosely based on events during the era of the Wars of the Roses.

Details:

Title: The House of York

Author: Terry Tyler

AISN: B016WNEEQO

Published: October 20th 2015

Genre: Family Saga, Contemporary

Source: I received my copy from the author in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 5/5 stars

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Goodreads

A New Hashtag Day for Book Bloggers: #TuesdayBookBlog

Attention all book bloggers and authors. Rosie Amber’s Book Review Team are introducing a brand new hashtag day, #TuesdayBookBlog, beginning today, Tuesday, November 3rd.

You can read all about it on Rosie’s blog:

https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/2015/10/28/announcing-a-new-bloggers-bookreview-hashtag-for-twitter-tuesdaybookblog/

And below are the main guidelines to stick to when posting.

Img Source: Terry Tyler Twitter: https://twitter.com/TerryTyler4/status/661497707085889537
Img Source: Twitter

Since I have so many interesting books on my TBR list I’ve compiled a list of a few books that are coming up soon on Scatterbooker for my very first #TuesdayBookBlog post:

The House of York by Terry Tyler

Img Source: Terry Tyler
Img Source: Terry Tyler

Description:

The House of York ~ a contemporary family drama, spanning the years 1993 – 2014.

Widowed single mum, Lisa Grey, and wealthy businessman, Elias York, are young and madly in love.  A recipe for happiness?  But Lisa is marrying into a complicated family.  Her new sister-in-law doesn’t want to know her.   Middle brother Gabriel’s marriage suffers under a cloud of infidelity and gambling debts, while the youngest, Richard, keeps his dark secrets well hidden—and his wife suffers in silence.

Lisa and her mother are bonded by their powerful intuition, but dare not voice their fears about York Towers—or certain members of the family….

Love and loss, abduction, incestuous desires and murderous intent form the basis of this compelling saga in which horrors float just beneath the surface, to bring forth a shocking outcome.

History lovers may be interested to know that The House of York is loosely based on events during the era of the Wars of the Roses.

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne

Img Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23311224-the-edge-of-dark?from_search=true&search_version=service
Img Source: Goodreads

Jane believes in keeping her promises, but a deathbed vow sets her on a twisting path of deceit and joy that takes her from the dark secrets of Holmwood House in York to the sign of the golden lily in London’s Mincing Lane. Getting what you want, Jane discovers, comes at a price. For the child that she longed for, the child she promised to love and to keep safe, turns out to be a darker spirit than she could ever have imagined.
Over four centuries later, Roz Acclam remembers nothing of the fire that killed her family – or of the brother who set it. Trying on a beautiful Elizabethan necklace found in the newly restored Holmwood House triggers disturbing memories of the past at last – but the past Roz remembers is not her own . . .
A dark and twisted tale from Pamela Harshorne, author of The Memory of Midnight and Time’s Echo, and a perfect read for fans of Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine.

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Future Perfect by Katrina Mountfort

Img Source: Goodreads
Img Source: Goodreads

The Blueprint trilogy takes us to a future in which men and women are almost identical, and personal relationships are forbidden. Following a bio-terrorist attack, the population now lives within comfortable Citidomes. MindValues advocate acceptance and non-attachment. The BodyPerfect cult encourages a tall thin androgynous appearance, and looks are everything. This first book, Future Perfect, tells the story of Caia, an intelligent and highly educated young woman. In spite of severe governmental and societal strictures, Caia finds herself becoming attracted to her co-worker, Mac, a rebel whose questioning of their so-called utopian society both adds to his allure and encourages her own questioning of the status quo. As Mac introduces her to illegal and subversive information she is drawn into a forbidden, dangerous world, becoming alienated from her other co-workers and resmates, the companions with whom she shares her residence. In a society where every thought and action are controlled, informers are everywhere; whom can she trust? When she and Mac are sent on an outdoor research mission, Caia’s life changes irreversibly. A dark undercurrent runs through this story; the enforcement of conformity through fear, the fostering of distorted and damaging attitudes towards forbidden love, manipulation of appearance and even the definition of beauty, will appeal to both an adult and young adult audience.

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Fetish by Tara Moss

Img Source: Goodreads
Img Source: Goodreads

Description:

Mak is young, beautiful- and in grave danger. An international fashion model, she arrived in Australia on assignment, only to find her best friend brutally murdered, the latest victim of a serial killer with a very deadly fetish. Before she knows it, Mak herself is caught up in the hunt for the killer and trapped in a twisted game of cat-and-mouse. Who can you trust and where can you turn when you are the dark obsession of a sadistic psychopath?

Tara Moss began modeling at fifteen and worked as a top model around the world for the years before becoming a full-time crime novelist.

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

The Brontë Plot by Katherine Reay

Img Source: Goodreads
Img Source: Goodreads

Description:

Lucy Alling makes a living selling rare books, often taking suspicious measures to reach her goals. When her unorthodox methods are discovered, Lucy’s secret ruins her relationship with her boss and her boyfriend James—leaving Lucy in a heap of hurt, and trouble. Something has to change; she has to change.

In a sudden turn of events, James’s wealthy grandmother Helen hires Lucy as a consultant for a London literary and antiques excursion. Lucy reluctantly agrees and soon discovers Helen holds secrets of her own. In fact, Helen understands Lucy’s predicament better than anyone else.

As the two travel across England, Lucy benefits from Helen’s wisdom, as Helen confronts the ghosts of her own past. Everything comes to a head at Haworth, home of the Brontë sisters, where Lucy is reminded of the sisters’ beloved heroines, who, with tenacity and resolution, endured—even in the midst of change.

Now Lucy must go back into her past in order to move forward. And while it may hold mistakes and regrets, she will prevail—if only she can step into the life that’s been waiting for her all along.

Goodreads

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Blonde Eskimo by Kristen Hunt

Img Source: Goodreads
Img Source: Goodreads

Description:

Part Viking, part Eskimo, Neiva Ellis knew her family’s ancestral home, the island of Spirit, Alaska, held a secret. A mystery so sensitive everyone, including her beloved grandmother, was keeping it from her. When Neiva is sent to stay on the island while her parents tour Europe she sets out on a mission to uncover the truth, but she was not prepared for what laid ahead.

On the night of her seventeenth birthday, the Eskimo rite of passage, Neiva is mysteriously catapulted into another world full of mystical creatures, ancient traditions, and a masked stranger who awakens feelings deep within her heart. Along with her best friends Nate, Viv and Breezy, she uncovers the truth behind the town of Spirit and about her own heritage.

When an evil force threatens those closest to her, Neiva will stop at nothing to defend her family and friends. Eskimo traditions and legends become real as two worlds merge together to fight a force so ancient and evil it could destroy not only Spirit but the rest of humanity.

Goodreads

Amazon US

Amazon UK