May Reads Roundup

I’m running late with this post (as usual) because May was an especially busy month for me. I spent a lot of May house-hunting but that was worth it in the end because I finally found the perfect one. I’ll be moving to a lovely house right near the beach this Saturday!  Uni kept me busy as usual but I’m glad to have one more semester behind me. I’ll be half-way through my degree once I’ve finished my current subjects! I did manage to squeeze some reading time in as well, although not quite as much as I would have liked. Watch this space for my next reading list!

Books I read in May:

The Girl in the Photograph by Kate Riordan                                              the girl in the photograph

The Girl in the Photograph is a haunting and atmospheric novel that tells the tales of women in two different eras – the 1890’s and 1930’s – and how their lives seem to be entwined by fate. Kate Riordan’s novel is a beautifully dark and beguiling tale which will sweep you away. It will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca.

In the summer of 1933, Alice Eveleigh has arrived at Fiercombe Manor in disgrace. The beautiful house becomes her sanctuary, a place to hide her shame from society in the care of the housekeeper, Mrs Jelphs. But the manor also becomes a place of suspicion, one of secrecy.

Something isn’t right.

Someone is watching.

There are secrets that the manor house seems determined to keep. Tragedy haunts the empty rooms and foreboding hangs heavy in the stifling heat. Traces of the previous occupant, Elizabeth Stanton, are everywhere and soon Alice discovers Elizabeth’s life eerily mirrors the path she herself is on.

Sing a Mournful Melody by Juli D. Revezzo                                     sing a mournful melody

At the turn of the 20th century, tragedy has left Maribelle grief-stricken. After her beloved husband is murdered, his body disappears from his crypt. Worse, ghostly voices call from the widow’s Graphophone. Is she losing her mind, or does something wicked this way come?

candyfloss guitar

Candyfloss Guitar by Steve Marriott

Diego is coasting. He has been content with living his life in a sun scorched pueblo that lies on the route of the pilgrim path: The Way of Saint James. But one stormy night, change is forced upon him when his father, Eduardo, the local candyfloss man, unexpectedly catches him entertaining a captivated crowd with flamenco guitar rhythms. At that moment, Eduardo relinquishes the hold from the ghosts of his past and realises it’s time for Diego to confront his fate. Eduardo arranges for Diego to live and work on a farm and sends him on his way with the gift of his old Spanish guitar.

Candyfloss Guitar is a story about taking the first steps on a journey towards shrouded dreams and searching for meaning.

Stephen Marriott, the soulful travel novelist, brings a subtle tenderness to this traveler’s tale that traverses the spiritual and physical worlds.

“A Gabriel Garcia Marquez-style tale of self-discovery kissed by the supernatural. Short, lovely and satisfying.” – Acclaimed spiritual fantasy author Laura K. Cowan, author of Music of Sacred Lakes & Thin Places: Supernatural Tales of the Unseen.

In Ark: A Promise of Survival by Lisa Devaney                                                                  in ark

In the year 2044, Mya Brand lives in New York City and pursues her passion—trying to digitally save the life story of every human on the planet before climate change makes Earth un-liveable. Recovering from a failed marriage, she stays laser-focused on her mission. With support from her actress best friend and bartender buddy, she is rebuilding her life and trying to heal her hard shell.

Fraught with daily hardships of survival in the face of climate change, she struggles to obtain food, maintain resources and protect her delicate skin from the harmful rays of the sun. With little funding for her digital archiving project, she struggles to keep her dreams going, but wonders how much more she could accomplish if she had more resources.

Then, one day she is abducted by an eco-survivalist community— Ark— that promises to make her dreams come true.

Finally able to focus on her mission, she begins to thrive in her new, sheltered, life. Gone are the hardships she faced from the outside world and climate change. Gone are her money struggles.

But Ark proves not to be the utopia she expects.

Concealment by Rose Edmunds                                                                                           concealment

Amy is at the top of her game as a finance professional despite a traumatic childhood. But the higher she climbs, the greater her fear of falling.
Her new boss Ed sniffs out insecurity like a shark smelling blood. He’s trashed dozens of careers on a whim and has Amy lined up as his next victim.
When a young colleague is murdered, Amy’s fragile equilibrium is shattered. A client’s fraud may be linked to the killing, but no one seems to care.
Caught in a tangle of business and personal connections, and fighting for her sanity, can Amy find the moral courage to uncover the truth?

January Reads Roundup

I’m terribly late with this post, but I hope you can forgive me for being a little bit absent minded for the next month or so. I’m heading into the last few weeks of this semester at uni, so things are about to get even more crazier here for the next few weeks while I’m madly writing essays and studying for exams. This semester has been my most difficult one so far, mostly because it ran right over Christmas. Christmas and uni don’t go together very well I’m afraid, but at least I’ve managed to hold in there and get everything handed in on time so far.

The first book review featured on Scatterbooker this much was actually by the lovely Ms. Brooke. She reviewed erotic novel, Explicit Instruction by Scarlett Finn. Thanks again Brooke for such a great review!explicitinstruction Then, the lovely Australian author, Margaret Lynette Sharp joined us to answer a few questions.

Next up, I reviewed Amnesia by Peter Carey, which is a contemporary thriller with an added bonus (for me) of being set in my home town of Melbourne. Amnesia CoverI was awarded the One Lovely Blog Award by Marjorie from https://kyrosmagica.wordpress.com/ !!!

My next review was Miss Peregrine’s Home for Unusual Children, a young adult, paranormal fantasy novel by Ransom Riggs.peregrine

Then I decided to share some rambling thoughts on Feminism in Wuthering Heights. Sorry Catherine, you’ll always be my fav, even though Isabella was more of a Feminist than you!

It was my birthday!                                                                                  

I reviewed Australian contemporary romance novel,  Of Love and Secrets by Margaret Lynette Sharp.

Of Love and Secrets cover
Of Love and Secrets

And then my favourite January read which was Kings and Queens by Terry Tyler. A novel about a modern day Henry VIII and his wives!kingsandqueens

I revealed the cover for The Black Swan Inheritance by Marigold Deidre Dicer, which is free on smashwords until the 6th of February https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/497280

The Black Swan InheritanceI reviewed and compared the Gone Girl novel and movie. I liked the novel by Gillian Flynn better, but some of you thought it might be better to watch the movie before reading the novel.

Gone Girl Book Cover

Margaret Lynette Sharp shared her review of Indulge: Sensual Tales of Steampunk and Fantasy by Jenny Schwartz.

Indulge: Sensual Tales of Steampunk and Fantasy Cover

And then I finished up with a big rant about Colleen McCullough’s awful obituary in The Australian. Twice! Sorry guys, I don’t usually rant much, I promise.Thank you so much for restoring my faith in humanity with so many lovely and supportive comments though.

I still have a few more books to go on my previous reading list, and I’ll update and add a few more in the next few days that will be coming up soon on Scatterbooker.