The Princess Bride by William Goldman

princessbride

Goodreads Synopsis

Beautiful, flaxen-haired Buttercup has fallen for Westley, the farm boy, and when he departs to make his fortune, she vows never to love another. So when she hears that his ship has been captured by the Dread Pirate Roberts (no survivors) her heart is broken. But her charms draw the attention of the relentless Prince Humperdinck who wants a wife and will go to any lengths to have Buttercup. So starts a fairy tale like no other, of fencing, poison, true love, hate, revenge, giants, bad men, good men, snakes, spiders, chases, escapes, lies, truths, passion and miracles, and … a damn fine story.

Details

Title: The Princess Bride

Author:ย William Goldman

ISBN: 0345418263 (ISBN13: 9780345418265)

Published:ย August 2008 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC (first published 1973)

Pages: 317

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Adventure, Young Adult

Source: Own Copy

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Amazon

Goodreads

My Thoughts

The Princess Bride is possibly the only time I ever saw the movie before I read the book. ย I must have watched the movie about a million times, as did most 80s kids, so I was a little bit apprehensive about reading the book around the wrong way after such a long time. I didn’t have anything to worry about because I enjoyed the book just as much as I loved the movie. I couldn’t help but picture the movie characters as I was reading, but I found that most of the action and classic lines in the novel were portrayed accurately in the movie.

Like this one!

3ae5975f0d3a0b8af293b18e2429dd9a

I found Goldman’s fictional great Florinese author, S. Morgenstern, and his “classic tale of true love and high adventure” an interesting technique. It’s definitely an interesting way of skipping through all the boring bits and adds an air of excitement to the story.

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Princess Bride by William Goldman

  1. Brilliant book and film. As an 80s child I’d watched this film a lot before reading the book and was stunned how similar they are (word for word in places). What’s great about the book though is there’s a lot more back story and a chapter from the follow up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never actually read this or watched the movie (I know really sad and ridiculous). Before winter break the school actually played it, but my friend and I decided to watch Home Alone back at her place before we found out what movie it was lol whoops. I am always so behind when it comes to classics in general anyways though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

