I’ll save that for later

I had a very strange moment today. In the picture below, you will see an old copy of The Magic Pudding by Norman Lindsay, a box full of buttons, and a Twiddle Muff I finished making for my Pop today.

111

A Twiddle Muff AKA Fidget Cloth is a sensory activity used in many nursing homes, and I believe sometimes for children as well, to give people who get the fidgets something to do with their hands. Or sometimes it can just be nice to look at, hold, or maybe talk about.

The strange moment came when I got to the part where I added the buttons. Because I’m not really that much of a crafty kind of person, I had to go and buy every single thing I used except for those buttons. Because I already had a box full of buttons that belonged to my grandmother. Using her buttons today, some that I remember from when she used the exact same ones on her own craft projects, put a whole new spin to the phrase: “I’ll save that for later”

I started to think about what kind of things I save for later and the answer was pretty obvious. I never ever throw out a book if I can help it. In fact, I still feel a little bit lost without the hundreds of books I somehow agreed to get rid of in the middle of a packing panic when I moved interstate. But I did hold onto this copy of The Magic Pudding, which originally belonged to my Aunty, and then it lived at my grandparent’s house for a long time until I claimed it. It’s a story that is remembered fondly by a lot of people in my family, including my Pop, as I discovered one day when I brought it along when I went to see him.

Now, I’m definitely not saying that it’s a good idea to become a total hoarder and just hold onto a whole bunch of useless clutter. But maybe it’s a good idea to put some thought into some of the things that you do save for later. Because there are so many strange little things that you just never can tell when they will come in handy, or stop and make you remember something very special.

2 thoughts on “I’ll save that for later

  1. I am the exact opposite. I obsessively declutter like someone with a little OCD. And I almost never regret it. Just every once in a blue moon when I can’t find something I desperately need. LOL. I’m making your arguement for you aren’t I? LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • πŸ™‚ I’m pretty ruthless like you are except for with books and clothes! I’m getting better at throwing out old clothes, but I think I’m going to make an effort to make sure I hang onto my favourite books! It would be useful sometimes to have everything you need at the drop of a hat, but I’m definitely not organised enough for that!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

