Win a copy of ‘The Yearbook Committee’ by Sarah Ayoub

giveaway

Do you remember how much I loved The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub? Well, I have some exciting news! Thanks to the lovely people at HarperCollins Publishers Australia I have one brand new copy to giveaway to one lucky reader.

This competition is open internationally and is run solely by myself. Make sure you click on the Rafflecopter link below to enter and read the full terms and conditions

Enter Here: a Rafflecopter giveaway

I will be checking entries so please make sure you do comment/tweet etc as well as marking tasks off on Rafflecopter!

Since The Yearbook Committee is set in an Australian high school I want you to let me know: What is your most embarrassing high school memory?

My most embarrassing high school memory is the time I walked straight into a pole while attempting to get off the school bus. I had only recently moved house so was new to catching this bus. Everyone saw it and reminded me about it for years after!

Description theyearbookcommitteecover

‘smart, funny and relevant’ – Melina Marchetta, bestselling author of LOOKING FOR ALIBRANDI, SAVING FRANCESCA and ON THE JELLICOE ROAD

Five teenagers. Five lives. One final year.

The school captain: Ryan has it all … or at least he did, until an accident snatched his dreams away. How will he rebuild his life and what does the future hold for him now?

The newcomer: Charlie’s just moved interstate and she’s determined not to fit in. She’s just biding her time until Year 12 is over and she can head back to her real life and her real friends …

The loner: At school, nobody really notices Matty. But at home, Matty is everything. He’s been single-handedly holding things together since his mum’s breakdown, and he’s never felt so alone.

The popular girl: Well, the popular girl’s best friend … cool by association. Tammi’s always bowed to peer pressure, but when the expectations become too much to handle, will she finally stand up for herself?

The politician’s daughter: Gillian’s dad is one of the most recognisable people in the state and she’s learning the hard way that life in the spotlight comes at a very heavy price.

Five unlikely teammates thrust together against their will. Can they find a way to make their final year a memorable one or will their differences tear their world apart?

My Review

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Book Depository (Free Shipping Worldwide)

Goodreads

 

 

26 thoughts on “Win a copy of ‘The Yearbook Committee’ by Sarah Ayoub

  1. We used to try to be cool by getting off the bus before it had come to a complete stop. So I was talking ato a guy, got up to get off at my stop and jumped off, but missed the landing and had to do a stumbly run not to lose my balance, which I then tried to pass off as running. Didn’t fool anyone, lots of laughing on the bus. Mortified.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The band room in my HS was extremely small and crowded. Like, knees on the seat in front of you crowded. The band director was also very serious about lateness. (He sometimes locked you out if you were late for class.) I was late for class one day and tried to sneak past the percussion section to get to my seat. Tripped. Knocked over EVERY SINGLE DRUM. Nothing broke but for the rest of the year every time he saw me he reenacted the fall…complete with beatboxing sound effects. He also lived up the street from me and was friends with my parents so they took over the reenactments when I was at home…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is so embarrassing I can hardly say…. let’s just say it was to do with the time of the month, and a very embarrassing leakage. I remember this boy called Jeffrey took me aside and whispered in my ear that I should go to the loo. It was very kind and mature of him not to add to my embarrassment by pointing it out to any of my classmates especially the boys!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, you poor thing! Something similar happened to me once on a bus on the way to play a game of netball. No one noticed because it wasn’t on my pants but I had to pretend I was too sick to play and missed out. I think it was some kind of important interschool sports competition and a VERY long bus trip for nothing! Jeffrey sounds lovely, though! I’m glad he was looking out for you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I was in the senior concert band in high school in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada and we were hosting the NORAD (The North American Aerospace Defense Command) band and choir one day. Our band met them at the bus, brought them in to the school and showed them where they could put their things, and took them into the auditorium. We were all wearing our band jackets. When the auditorium was full and the visiting group had been introduced, everyone stood as the band and choir did O Canada. The whole assembly sang out with gusto. Then the NORAD group went into the U.S. National Anthem and after “O say, can you see by the dawn’s early light, you could only hear the NORAD choir singing. I was so personally embarrassed I went home and memorized them. Still know them almost 50 years later. We should have been prepared for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I was always tripping over my feet. It’s a thing that still happens to this day. One day it iced over with snow and we never got snow in my desert hometown. School wasn’t closed unfortunately so our neighbor dropped us off at school in front of the building right before the bell rang. Lots of kids were crowded around and to my mortification, I stepped out of the car, waved thank you and goodbye and then proceeded to slip on ice. I fell on my back spread eagle and got the wind knocked out of me. I can’t remember how long I was down but my poor brother finally walked back to check on me and tell me to get up-I was embarrassing him. When I rose…everyone in the crowd was just staring. No laughing but I saw their pity. Sigh. Good times!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s nice to know that we all have these moments from our school days! Mine is more of an ongoing situation — I had to wear a back brace for several years, and it wasn’t until I finally stopped wearing it and people commented on how normal I looked that I realized how not normal I’d looked all that time previously.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My most mortifying high school experience was when I started a new HS here in Melbourne and I had to go to the front of the class to read something out that I’d written, I tripped on my own shoe laces, stumbled forward and did one of those long comical flailing arms things to try to break my fall in about 54 moves, prolonged the inevitable and somehow ended up on my back, hit my head on the way down. Kept insisting I was totally okay (why do we do that?) when I was bleeding from three places but insisted despite all help from the teacher that I was okay, continued on with my (awful) speech about Bill Clinton’s presidency (!?!) and tried to ignore the blood and the throbbing of my knee and the fact that I wanted to cry but that my ego was the most bruised part of me. lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ok just to clarify “MY WHOLE HIGH SCHOOL CAREER WAS AN EMBARRASSING MOMENT” 😂😂 But here is one on the tooop of my list: It was a Monday ( yeeep still remember that, sooo hard to forget) I was on my period and was about to leave for the bathroom, and a guy from my class asked for a pencil and I had a tampon out of my little bag because I was going to just bring it with me. I had a pencil and a tampon in my hand, I gave him my tampon. Weirdest. Moment. Ever. He kinda just stared at it and me for a few seconds before hesitantly dropping it into my palm. I handed him the actual pencil, grabbed my stuff, and left. I didn’t come back to the class that day. 😂😂😂

    Like

  9. I was such a nerd at HS. So I had many embarrassing moments. The one that sticks out though is when I was in a triple Accounting lecture. Our teacher was a tough cookie, she took no nonsense from anyone. In the middle of the lesson, I was called over the intercom to go to the headmaster’s office. This was over the speaker in the classroom, so everyone knew. Ms Martin picked up the receiver and told Mr. Botha that she was preparing me for my final examinations, and there was no way she was letting me out of an important lesson. I kind of saw her point. When the slightly overweight, balding man came huffing over the lawn in protest, she locked her classroom door. He thumped and shouted, and she shouted back. Eventually he went. I never stopped being teased as a teacher’s pet after that, and there was very little I could do. I was mortified.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

