Book Review: Full Circle by Terry Tyler

Title: Full Circle                                                           fullcircle

Author: Terry Tyler

AISN: B00CBO07WY

Published: April 12th 2013

Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Rock Fiction

Pages: 227

Source: I received my copy from the author in exchange for an honest review

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Description:

FULL CIRCLE is the sequel to Terry Tyler’s fourth novel, DREAM ON, but can be enjoyed as a stand alone work. It’s a tale of love triangles, infidelity, an English rock band, the lure of celebrity, and the destructive nature of alcohol addiction. FULL CIRCLE ~ love, sex and marriage, rock music and secret affairs, with a few laughs along the way!

***

Two years have passed since we left Dave, Ariel, Janice and Shane at the end of DREAM ON.

ARIEL thought her hard work and perseverance had been rewarded when she met record producer Theo Perlmutter ~ then a tragic event turned her dreams to dust.

Newly married JANICE was happier than she’d ever been ~ but the honeymoon ended when born again alcoholic husband Max careered off the wagon and into the nearest bar.

Being forced onto The Jeremy Kyle Show in DREAM ON was not enough to make ladies’ man SHANE learn his lesson – will his philandering ways eventually catch up with him?

Rock band THOR has risen from the ashes…

… but DAVE is unhappy, trapped in a domestic situation not of his choosing.

Will there be a happy ever after ending for any of them?

My Thoughts:

Full Circle is the sequel to Dream On which I read recently. I didn’t even know that there was a sequel so I was very pleasantly surprised when the very lovely author, Terry Tyler, was kind enough to send me a copy!

Full Circle picks up the stories of all of the characters from Dream On a couple of years later. Janice has started a family with Max, but their marriage isn’t all smooth sailing, Dave has started a new family and has reunited Thor, Melodie still wants to be rich and famous, Ariel has recorded an album in America, and Shane is still up to his usual tricks but he now has a daughter who is the love of his life.

What I really enjoyed about this series is how much all of the characters seem like real people who you might have met before. I think we all know a ‘Shane’ who is always getting himself into sticky situations but is such a likable guy that you can’t help but just laugh at him and his crazy antics.

As you can tell, I really enjoyed Full Circle. Terry Tyler is just one of those authors who really seems to understand people, how they think and how they will react in different situations. I do think that there could be room for a third novel in this series (hint hint Terry!).

Amazon

Goodreads

Advertisements

May Reads Roundup

I’m running late with this post (as usual) because May was an especially busy month for me. I spent a lot of May house-hunting but that was worth it in the end because I finally found the perfect one. I’ll be moving to a lovely house right near the beach this Saturday!  Uni kept me busy as usual but I’m glad to have one more semester behind me. I’ll be half-way through my degree once I’ve finished my current subjects! I did manage to squeeze some reading time in as well, although not quite as much as I would have liked. Watch this space for my next reading list!

Books I read in May:

The Girl in the Photograph by Kate Riordan                                              the girl in the photograph

The Girl in the Photograph is a haunting and atmospheric novel that tells the tales of women in two different eras – the 1890’s and 1930’s – and how their lives seem to be entwined by fate. Kate Riordan’s novel is a beautifully dark and beguiling tale which will sweep you away. It will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca.

In the summer of 1933, Alice Eveleigh has arrived at Fiercombe Manor in disgrace. The beautiful house becomes her sanctuary, a place to hide her shame from society in the care of the housekeeper, Mrs Jelphs. But the manor also becomes a place of suspicion, one of secrecy.

Something isn’t right.

Someone is watching.

There are secrets that the manor house seems determined to keep. Tragedy haunts the empty rooms and foreboding hangs heavy in the stifling heat. Traces of the previous occupant, Elizabeth Stanton, are everywhere and soon Alice discovers Elizabeth’s life eerily mirrors the path she herself is on.

Sing a Mournful Melody by Juli D. Revezzo                                     sing a mournful melody

At the turn of the 20th century, tragedy has left Maribelle grief-stricken. After her beloved husband is murdered, his body disappears from his crypt. Worse, ghostly voices call from the widow’s Graphophone. Is she losing her mind, or does something wicked this way come?

candyfloss guitar

Candyfloss Guitar by Steve Marriott

Diego is coasting. He has been content with living his life in a sun scorched pueblo that lies on the route of the pilgrim path: The Way of Saint James. But one stormy night, change is forced upon him when his father, Eduardo, the local candyfloss man, unexpectedly catches him entertaining a captivated crowd with flamenco guitar rhythms. At that moment, Eduardo relinquishes the hold from the ghosts of his past and realises it’s time for Diego to confront his fate. Eduardo arranges for Diego to live and work on a farm and sends him on his way with the gift of his old Spanish guitar.

Candyfloss Guitar is a story about taking the first steps on a journey towards shrouded dreams and searching for meaning.

Stephen Marriott, the soulful travel novelist, brings a subtle tenderness to this traveler’s tale that traverses the spiritual and physical worlds.

“A Gabriel Garcia Marquez-style tale of self-discovery kissed by the supernatural. Short, lovely and satisfying.” – Acclaimed spiritual fantasy author Laura K. Cowan, author of Music of Sacred Lakes & Thin Places: Supernatural Tales of the Unseen.

In Ark: A Promise of Survival by Lisa Devaney                                                                  in ark

In the year 2044, Mya Brand lives in New York City and pursues her passion—trying to digitally save the life story of every human on the planet before climate change makes Earth un-liveable. Recovering from a failed marriage, she stays laser-focused on her mission. With support from her actress best friend and bartender buddy, she is rebuilding her life and trying to heal her hard shell.

Fraught with daily hardships of survival in the face of climate change, she struggles to obtain food, maintain resources and protect her delicate skin from the harmful rays of the sun. With little funding for her digital archiving project, she struggles to keep her dreams going, but wonders how much more she could accomplish if she had more resources.

Then, one day she is abducted by an eco-survivalist community— Ark— that promises to make her dreams come true.

Finally able to focus on her mission, she begins to thrive in her new, sheltered, life. Gone are the hardships she faced from the outside world and climate change. Gone are her money struggles.

But Ark proves not to be the utopia she expects.

Concealment by Rose Edmunds                                                                                           concealment

Amy is at the top of her game as a finance professional despite a traumatic childhood. But the higher she climbs, the greater her fear of falling.
Her new boss Ed sniffs out insecurity like a shark smelling blood. He’s trashed dozens of careers on a whim and has Amy lined up as his next victim.
When a young colleague is murdered, Amy’s fragile equilibrium is shattered. A client’s fraud may be linked to the killing, but no one seems to care.
Caught in a tangle of business and personal connections, and fighting for her sanity, can Amy find the moral courage to uncover the truth?