Words and Phrases That You Can’t Stand

Source: http://www.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=https://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4102/4887622204_331b0e173f_b.jpg&imgrefurl=https://www.flickr.com/photos/stockerre/4887622204/&h=755&w=1024&tbnid=3OKYEtWDvtkuqM:&zoom=1&docid=0VcbN3ZOHjejGM&ei=2kbwVOveNqXWmgXhnIGgDg&tbm=isch&ved=0CEoQMygkMCQ
Disgusted Baby Source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/stockerre/4887622204/

A while ago I wrote a list of some of the words and phrases that I just can’t stand. 

I received such an overwhelming list of horrible words and phrases that I had left out of my list that I thought I should share them with you all.

Belinda from Bookarahma thought that I should have included:

Bae

Youse

H pronounced as “Haitch”

I could care less – that means you care!

Baby Bunting – an Australian baby store which does sound pretty awful!

Mistral from Mistral Dawn’s Musings wrote that:

For me it’s not so much the specific words that drive me crazy, it’s the way some people pick at things. If something is amazing, or a person is very talented, there is no reason to go searching for something bad to say about it or them. Why do some people feel like they just *have* to criticize all the time?

Bridget from Dog-Eared & Dog-Tagged said that nostrils gives her the shudders.

Lynn from Lynn’s Book Blog came up with this punny pun:

Totes amazeballs! Made me giggle, you sure did ladle it on and my eyes are now moist with laughter.

Rose from Rambling1Rose is irritated by going forward. Is there any other way?

Annette from Outside of a Cat said that congrats is definitely on her list! If something is worth congratulations, it’s well worth the extra three syllables.

Terry Tyler could have gone on for hours but wanted to definitely include:

Any advance on entrepreneur – mediapreneur, mompreneur – vom!!!!!!

Lol

Yay

Do a happy dance

People calling their kids ‘the munchkin’, and calling each other ‘pumpkin’.

Steve from Steve Says hates overused phrases such as:

In all honesty

You Know

At the end of the day...bleuch!

I wonder if we’ve managed to collect all of the most horrible words and phrases yet or are there more that we should add to the list?

13 thoughts on “Words and Phrases That You Can’t Stand

  1. Hahaha! I could be here all day! The 2 most annoying at the moment are “To be fair” and “tell me about it” my mum says the latter all the time. For instance on the phone the other day she asked how I’d slept, my answer was that I’d woken a few times in the night but that’s not unusual, to which she replied “tell me about it” huh?! I just did :-/
    People using the word “potentially” in a sentence too!
    Great post! Loved reading it 🙂

    Like

  2. I just wrote up my review of The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguru, and I have to say it was Axl calling his wife princess all the time that did it for me! Maybe it’s just because nobody has ever called me princess, I could be jealous!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

