Book Review: Dream On by Terry Tyler

Title: Dream On Dream On cover

Author: Terry Tyler

AISN: B0094WNOF8

Published: September 1st 2012 by CraniumXpublishing

Genre: Fiction, Contemporary Drama, Rock Fiction

Pages: 218

Source: I downloaded my copy from Amazon during a free promotion

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Description:

Dave Bentley was born to be a rock star.

He’s a reincarnated Viking warrior, too…

When Dave forms his new band, Thor, there are plenty of sleepless nights for Janice, his on-off girlfriend and mother of his son. Not only must she deal with the thrills and spills of life as a hardworking single mum, but also the imminent return of singer-songwriter Ariel Swan, Dave’s one true love.

Poor Janice. Dave is still the love of her life.

Ariel Swan returns to small town life – and Dave’s heart.

She and her friend Melodie (whose ambition is to be “a celebrity”) enter a TV talent competition, so Dave and the rest of Thor decide to make the most of the opportunity for possible fame and fortune, too. This adventure brings about big changes in the lives of all of them – none of which Dave could have anticipated.

One member of Thor even ends up on The Jeremy Kyle Show..

My Thoughts:

Dream On is the third Terry Tyler book that I have read this year, so as you can probably guess, I am a huge fan of hers. I feel that Terry is extremely insightful into human nature and manages to encapsulate so many different characters perfectly while always maintaining her own distinct voice throughout her novels.

From Dave Bentley, the wannabe rock star, to his long-suffering on again off again girlfriend and mother of his child Janice, to Ariel Swan, the singer-songwriter who returns to their small hometown after failing to make it in London, to Shane Cowley, the guitarist who is mostly just interested in picking up birds, each of the characters seem just like people you probably already know. None of the characters in Dream On are perfect and sometimes that aren’t even very likable, but I definitely felt myself empathising with all of them at some point during the novel. Even if you aren’t too interested in the rock scene, you will still enjoy the down to earth and refreshingly honest relationships in Dream On.

I enjoyed Dream On so much that I have just added the sequel, Full Circle, to my reading list. I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

Amazon

Goodreads

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Dream On by Terry Tyler

  1. I was unsure about this book when I read the first bit, he was a ‘reincarnated viking’, but as I read on and saw that there was an appearance on Jeremy, it sounds like this is a book I would really enjoy. Great review, thanks for sharing. Also, love how the author read and commented on your post, make it so worthwhile, (I think).
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, people, for all your kind comments. I first wrote Dream On 20 years ago then re-wrote it in 2012 to self-publish. It’s lovely to see people talking about it, three years after publication! And yes, Amanda, don’t worry, there’s no reincarnation mumbo jumbo, it’s just tongue in cheek stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re more than welcome Terry! That’s one of my favourite things about books. It doesn’t matter when a good book was written, as long as it is new to you. And I really should mention then how much I enjoyed the inclusion of Myspace. Perfect social media platform to include in a novel about musicians xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

