My Reading List

Hello my lovely Scatterbookers. You may have noticed that I have been very quiet lately and I’m  sorry that I haven’t had much time to spend with you all. It’s one of my favourite things! Unfortunately I’ve been going through a bit of a bumpy patch. Uni has been kicking my butt, I’ve been house hunting (no luck there yet!) and life has just been a bit crazy in general. So apologies for being missing in action for a while but I’m working on getting back on track with my blogging as of right now by sharing some books that have recently made their way onto my reading list. I am working on sorting out my out of control inbox too, so I will be getting back to everybody I owe an email to ASAP!

I have recently discovered UK author, Terry Tyler, so have decided to read some of her earlier novels since I enjoyed reading both Kings and Queens and Last Child so much. I suppose you could say that I’m having a bit of a Terry Tylerthon! It’s a bit like binging on a good TV show, once I find one that I really like I can’t rest until I’ve seen/read them all.

Round and Round by Terry Tyler    round and round

Description:

Terry Tyler’s ninth published work is a 36,000 word novella, i.e. between a third and half as long as a full length novel.

Four Valentine cards – from four different men!

Sophie Heron’s fortieth birthday is looming, and she is fed up with her job, her relationship, her whole life – not to mention her boyfriend’s new ‘hobby’, in which she definitely doesn’t want to get involved…

Back in 1998 she had the choice of four men, and now she can’t help wondering how her life might have turned out if she’d chosen differently.

The person to whom Sophie had always been closest was her beloved Auntie Flick, her second mother, friend and advisor. Before her death in 2001, Flick said, “when I’m up there having a cuppa with St Peter, I’ll have a word with him about making me your guardian angel, shall I?”

As Sophie’s fortieth birthday draws near, she visits her aunt’s special place: a tree by a river, hidden from the world. Here she calls on Auntie Flick to show her the way forward – and help her look back into the past so she can see what might have been…

Amazon

Goodreads

Nine Lives by Terry Tyler nine lives

Description:

“NINE LIVES” is a collection of nine short stories, all of which are contemporary drama in the vein of Terry Tyler’s well-loved novels. The first chapter of her latest one, What It Takes, is to be found at the end.

“I was pleased these were up to her usual standard of entertainment” “A great introduction to Terry’s writing” – A Woman’s Wisdom book blog.

The stories:

“Angel” ~ The perfect wife of the perfect husband is tempted by the fruit of another.

“Shut Up And Dance” ~ Paul says he will love Laura whatever size she is. But will he?

“Mia” ~ The threat of ‘the other woman’…

“Kiss Your Past Goodbye” ~ Zoe finds out what happened to her first love, who broke her heart.

“We All Fall Down” ~ Two old friends meet for a drink – just a swift one, of course!

“Bright Light Fright” ~ A tale of vengeance, a burglary, and a nasty shock.

“Mama Kin” ~ Emma and Melanie have very different approaches to childcare – oh dear!

“Don’t Get Mad – Get Even” ~ Kevin and Marcus have been best friends, yet rivals, since schooldays; who will come out on top?

“Happy Birthday” ~ A forty year old woman looks back over her life.

Amazon

Goodreads

Sing a Mournful Melody by Julie D Revezzo sing a mournful melody

Description:

At the turn of the 20th century, tragedy has left Maribelle grief-stricken. After her beloved husband is murdered, his body disappears from his crypt. Worse, ghostly voices call from the widow’s Graphophone. Is she losing her mind, or does something wicked this way come?

Amazon

Goodreads

Concealment by Rose Edmunds concealment

Description:

Amy is at the top of her game as a finance professional despite a traumatic childhood. But the higher she climbs, the greater her fear of falling.
Her new boss Ed sniffs out insecurity like a shark smelling blood. He’s trashed dozens of careers on a whim and has Amy lined up as his next victim.
When a young colleague is murdered, Amy’s fragile equilibrium is shattered. A client’s fraud may be linked to the killing, but no one seems to care.
Caught in a tangle of business and personal connections, and fighting for her sanity, can Amy find the moral courage to uncover the truth?

Amazon

Goodreads

Daughter by Jane Schemilt daughter

Description:

Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.

But when her youngest child, fifteen-year-old Naomi, doesn’t come home after her school play, Jenny’s seemingly ideal life begins to crumble. The authorities launch a nationwide search with no success. Naomi has vanished, and her family is broken.

As the months pass, the worst-case scenarios—kidnapping, murder—seem less plausible. The trail has gone cold. Yet for a desperate Jenny, the search has barely begun. More than a year after her daughter’s disappearance, she’s still digging for answers—and what she finds disturbs her. Everyone she’s trusted, everyone she thought she knew, has been keeping secrets, especially Naomi. Piecing together the traces her daughter left behind, Jenny discovers a very different Naomi from the girl she thought she’d raised.

Amazon

Goodreads

The Lady of the Castle by Iny Lorentz the lady of the castle

I thoroughly enjoyed the first novel of this series, The Wandering Harlot, so I’m looking forward to finding out what happens next!

Description:

Marie lives happily in Sobernburg Castle with her beloved husband, Michel Adler, a tremendous achievement for a woman who was once the “Wandering Harlot.” The couple longs for a family, but when Michel is called to battle against the rebellious Hussites, they have to put those dreams on hold until—if they’re lucky—Michel returns home.

Soon after his departure, Marie is thrilled to find she is already with child, but this bright news is quickly tarnished by anxiety for her husband’s return. News of him trickles in: first that he’s been knighted for his exemplary courage in battle…and then that he disappeared without a trace during a grisly massacre and is presumed dead. Pregnant and alone, Marie’s place in the world is once again precarious. Unwilling to abandon the hope that her husband has somehow survived, Marie escapes from the castle and takes to the road once more to find Michel and save her family.

In this sequel to The Wandering Harlot, bestselling author Iny Lorentz transports readers to a richly rendered fifteenth-century Germany, where courage and true love conquer all.

Amazon

Goodreads

The Girl in the Photograph by Kate Riordan the girl in the photograph

Description:

The Girl in the Photograph is a haunting and atmospheric novel that tells the tales of women in two different eras – the 1890’s and 1930’s – and how their lives seem to be entwined by fate. Kate Riordan’s novel is a beautifully dark and beguiling tale which will sweep you away. It will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca.

In the summer of 1933, Alice Eveleigh has arrived at Fiercombe Manor in disgrace. The beautiful house becomes her sanctuary, a place to hide her shame from society in the care of the housekeeper, Mrs Jelphs. But the manor also becomes a place of suspicion, one of secrecy.

Something isn’t right.

Someone is watching.

There are secrets that the manor house seems determined to keep. Tragedy haunts the empty rooms and foreboding hangs heavy in the stifling heat. Traces of the previous occupant, Elizabeth Stanton, are everywhere and soon Alice discovers Elizabeth’s life eerily mirrors the path she herself is on.

Amazon

Goodreads

In Ark: A Promise of Survival (Mya and Ark) (Volume 1) by Lisa Devaney in ark

Description:

In the year 2044, Mya Brand lives in New York City and pursues her passion—trying to digitally save the life story of every human on the planet before climate change makes Earth un-liveable. Recovering from a failed marriage, she stays laser-focused on her mission. With support from her actress best friend and bartender buddy, she is rebuilding her life and trying to heal her hard shell.

Fraught with daily hardships of survival in the face of climate change, she struggles to obtain food, maintain resources and protect her delicate skin from the harmful rays of the sun. With little funding for her digital archiving project, she struggles to keep her dreams going, but wonders how much more she could accomplish if she had more resources.

Then, one day she is abducted by an eco-survivalist community— Ark— that promises to make her dreams come true.

Finally able to focus on her mission, she begins to thrive in her new, sheltered, life. Gone are the hardships she faced from the outside world and climate change. Gone are her money struggles.

But Ark proves not to be the utopia she expects.

Amazon

Goodreads

The Water Travelers: Heir of the Unknown by Daniel Waltz the water travelers

Description:

The people of Upitar have the ability to go back forth between their world and Earth, through water. Aaron Archien is the heir to the throne of Upitar, and before his father feels he is ready to become king, he is given one last task: go to Earth, find the daughter of Michael Harper, bring her to Upitar, and kill her. The girl, Madalyne Harper, was prophesied about long ago to destroy the waterways, thus ending the world of Upitar. Although against the idea of taking an innocent life, Aaron agrees to do it for the sake of his people. But, upon going to Earth, he unknowingly meets Madalyne and they fall in love before their fates become known.

Amazon

Goodreads

Candyfloss Guitar by Stephen Marriot candyfloss guitar

Description:

Diego is coasting. He has been content with living his life in a sun scorched pueblo that lies on the route of the pilgrim path: The Way of Saint James. But one stormy night, change is forced upon him when his father, Eduardo, the local candyfloss man, unexpectedly catches him entertaining a captivated crowd with flamenco guitar rhythms. At that moment, Eduardo relinquishes the hold from the ghosts of his past and realises it’s time for Diego to confront his fate. Eduardo arranges for Diego to live and work on a farm and sends him on his way with the gift of his old Spanish guitar.

Candyfloss Guitar is a story about taking the first steps on a journey towards shrouded dreams and searching for meaning.

Stephen Marriott, the soulful travel novelist, brings a subtle tenderness to this traveller’s tale that traverses the spiritual and physical worlds.

“A Gabriel Garcia Marquez-style tale of self-discovery kissed by the supernatural. Short, lovely and satisfying.” – Acclaimed spiritual fantasy author Laura K. Cowan, author of Music of Sacred Lakes & Thin Places: Supernatural Tales of the Unseen

Amazon

Goodreads

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “My Reading List

  1. I’m half way through The Girl In The Photograph. It moves slowly but I’m enjoying the writing. and I must put Terry Tyler’s shorts on my to read list. She was a featured writer on my blog a while ago.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s