Birthday Reflections

birthdayballoons
Source: http://www.flickr.com/photos/brianglanz/1094844245

Its my birthday today! Birthdays don’t really hold the same excitement as they used to once you hit your 30’s, but nevertheless, this has been a pretty amazing year for me, so I decided that today was a good occasion to share some of the best moments of the past 12 months with you all.

  • I finally went back to school! This was something that I had been talking about doing for years. Well, last year I finally did it! Uni life has it’s ups and downs of course, but I’m so proud of myself for proving that I could actually do it. I’ve passed every single subject so far and have even managed to get a couple of High Distinctions. The most exciting part is that I finally have a really good idea of what I would like to be when I grow up and I’m actually really excited about it.
  • I finally started a blog! Duh, you’re reading it right now πŸ™‚ Starting a blog is another thing that I talked about doing for ages and never got around to it. Silly me, because its awesome! I honestly can’t believe how many amazing and clever people I have met through this blog. Thank you all for being so friendly and helpful to this newbie blogger.
  • My rescue cat has finally started to settle down a bit! Poor old Zeus didn’t have the best start to life, so when we adopted him about a year ago he was a bit of a nervous wreck to be honest. Lots of love and a happy home has worked wonders on him though, and seeing him come out of his shell and become the loving, cheeky, confident, crazy cat that he’s meant to be has been one of the best parts of my year.
  • I’ve met lots of lovely new people! Some I’ve met at uni, some are just those people you meet randomly, some of you are right here πŸ™‚ Either way, some wonderful people have come into my life this year.
  • I’ve had a lot of laughs! And tears, and angry grumbles, and everything in between. Good or bad, I’ve had a lot of memorable moments this year but even the bad ones have helped me learn and grown. And everything worked out ok in the end.

I will be spending the afternoon with my Mum at a winery in the sun today and then heading out for dinner with my other half. I hope all of you have a wonderful January 21st too!

28 thoughts on “Birthday Reflections

  1. Belated Happy birthday for Wednesday, sorry only just saw it when I looked on your page for something to RT! and you share your birthday with the lovely Will Young xx

    When you get (much older than 30) you start reviewing your life in decades, instead… !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Caroline. It definitely does, but it is so rewarding once they start to understand that everything is ok. Zeus is much more comfortable with me and my partner, although he’s still very clingy. Now we just have to work on him not being quite so scared when we have visitors! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Just seen it’s your birthday. So happy belated birthday Jade – hope you had fun and hope the Aussie summer weather went back to normal for your celebrations πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy birthday! Sounds like it was a pretty great year! πŸ™‚ I am happy your cat Zeus is comfortable in his new home. I adopted a rescue cat last month, her name is Mouse. She is very young but it is obvious that she had a lot of bad memories before she was rescued. 😦 Its nice seeing her become more comfortable around her new home!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, it was a pretty good year πŸ™‚ I’m glad Mouse is starting to come out of her shell. It can be hard work, but it’s so rewarding to watch them become more comfortable with you. Zeus is really good now, but he’s still improving in confidence all of the time. He jumped in our friend’s lap all by himself just a few weeks ago. That’s HUGE and very brave for Zeus!

      Like

Leave a Reply

