Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children peregrine

Author: Ransom Riggs

Published: June 7th 2011 by Quirk

ISBN: 1594744769

Genre: YA, Paranormal Fantasy

Pages: 352

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

Description from Goodreads:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

My Thoughts:

I purchased my copy.

I have been meaning to get around to reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs for what seems like forever now. Well, I’ve been missing out for quite a while now because I really enjoyed it. Paranormal fantasy can be a bit hit or miss for me, but this novel had a lot more hits than misses.

Jacob’s Grandfather has always told him fairy-tales, but these stories were a lot different from the usual run of the mill children’s stories. They were full of monsters and magical children who lived at a home run by Miss Peregrine that Grandpa lived at as a child when he lost his family from Nazi Germany. He even had photos to prove it.

When Grandpa seems to be killed by the monsters from his stories Jacob travels to the isolated island in Wales to find Miss Peregrine and discover truth about his Grandfather and the monsters that were now haunting Jacob.

He discovers that his Grandfather was telling the truth after all and that Miss Peregrine and her peculiar children were still there, living in a kind of groundhog day situation called a loop. To protect themselves from the monsters that eventually killed Jacob’s Grandfather the children were forced to hide in their loop, living out the same day on earth over and over again and never aging.

Of course the monsters turn up eventually, but I shouldn’t get too far into that at the risk of spoiling the story. Unless I’m the only person who hasn’t already read this novel? That could be a distinct possibility!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children had quite a dark and Gothic feel to it and that feeling was enhanced by the inclusion of original photographs. I highly recommend purchasing a physical copy of this novel to truly appreciate the creep factor of them. Its also fascinating to note that ‘photoshopping’ images is such an old practice. I think its something that a lot of people consider to be a new thing, but people have been photoshopping weird things into their photos for a long time! I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and am eagerly anticipating the sequel, Hollow City.

View on Goodreads

View on Amazon

15 thoughts on “Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. I haven’t read this yet though I’ve gathered that it’s a good read. I’ll have to put this in my tbr pile. Nice review!

    Like

  2. I just discovered your blog on Postcards from Asia. And thansk for subscribing. I’ll added you on Bloglovin.
    I’ve got this book and really should get to it. It’s true a bout photoshop although I never thought of it that way. There was that scandal with the fairy pictures in Victorian England. I think Conan Doyle was involved.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Caroline,

      Nice to ‘meet’ you! Delia from Postcards from Asia is lovely, isn’t she?

      I’m not sure why I dragged my feet on this one, but I thought it was definitely a good read and I think the sequel has already been published!

      I remember those old fairy pictures and there’s been heaps over the years. All the Nessie and Yeti sightings for a start! I find that really interesting how a lot of the things that we think are unique to the Internet have historical counterparts, but I’m just a big Internet studies nerd at heart 🙂

      Like

  3. I think you liked this better than I did. I loved the visuals (very unusual) and the first half of the book and how Jacob discovered his grandfather’s tales were true. I had a feeling they were but was very curious to see how it all came together in the story.
    For some reason I could not love it all – too much teenage angst going on. I wouldn’t mind reading the sequel but it’s not a priority.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it would be appropriate for teens maybe 13 years and older. There are monsters and a bit of romance, but nothing too graphic or full on besides the fact that the main character does have the hots for his grandfather’s ex girlfriend because of the whole time travel thing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

